The body’s art

World Map tanz.dance
NEW

The Body’s Art

Choreography has much more to do with a radicality and urgency of action than with consent and dancing along. This is true all over the world, without exception.

lesen
Documenta, Decolonycities & Deutsch-Südwest-Afrika

Documenta, Decolonycities and German Southwest Africa

A shadow hangs over Namibia–– and not just because of the low-hanging sun over the picturesque Etosha salt pan. Despite all the romanticism surrounding the desert, peace remains elusive even in the wake of the return of the looted artworks to the former German colony. The relationship with those who erected the first German concentration camps is anything but resolved.

Indigener Tanz

Vancouver’s New Wave of Indigenous Dance

Rituals, Elders, Ancestors and lots of land in the Canadian West. Contemporary Indigenous dance is reviving in the Coast Salish Territories. In 1886, the urban settlement of Vancouver was founded here, the inhabitants were displaced. But now the wind is changing.

Alles gelb auf 71° N

Still 2000 kilometres to the North Pole

A mighty festival on the island of Ingøy in northernmost Norway unites audiences and dancers under Arctic skies. Not far from the Russian border, the theatre is celebrating the landscape. Among us: Hans-Thies Lehmann, the late doyen of post-dramatic theatre. For him, landscape was both the adversary and the centre of theatre. A festive description and a last text by him.

The Marseille Miracle

The most artistically successful ballet company in the world currently hails from Marseille. Anyone can attend the rehearsals of the Ballet National de Marseille, even the administrative staff. Headed by a three-person collective, this giant company captures the spirit of the times in its productions. Covering everything from Lucinda Childs to Georgian folk dances, the (LA)HORDE collective invites everyone to enjoy dance again.

Springdance festival

Digging for Beauty

With its roots submerged in time, nothing is remoter to our Western sensibilities than Indian dance. What’s more, statues of naked female dancers at Karnataka’s temples attract those tourists who yearn to look at bayadères, those Hindu dancers that have been denigrated as prostitutes. In truth, Indian dance is undergoing a continuous reconstruction derived from innumerable fragments of a history spanning centuries. Choreographer Padmini Chettur has embraced this task with great sensitivity.

Sorben Lausitz

In the german lausitz

They call themselves Sorbs and Wends. Strangers often only notice their existence in Germany’s easternmost region when they see the bilingual town signs that come into view as soon as they cross the rolling hills into this other culture. Here, people defend themselves against the loss of self-will with vigorous dances – both old and new.

Foreign Dance

Modernism would be inconceivable without the interplay of inspiration and appropriation, any by implication the global groove of art, dance, performance, and protest. From a historical perspective, the German expressionist painter Ernst-Ludwig Kirchner (1880-1938) was from an early stage enthusiastic not only about non-European cultures, but also for dance. This very intersection was precisely where the avant-garde found its starting point: in movements from elsewhere.

Dort wo die Jungs sind

The desire to fight

He who fights is a warrior. Or an artist? And where is the border to dance? Israeli choreographer Yotam Peled explores the similarities between combat and dance practices. A conversation about (violent) fantasies, tenderness, pain and vulnerability.

Moving Cities Hong Kong

The dancing cluster

Hong Kong is in lockdown. Laws, also to contain the virus, do not make it easier for the city to find its way into its still new role. So is the dance scene: the departure on the one hand, the attempt to go new ways and to break with traditions on the other.

The inability to help

Burkina Faso is one of the poorest countries in Africa and indeed the world. Despite a recent military coup, it is the venue for a dance festival that allows guests to gain deep insights into the mentalities of the African dance scene. On stage, people argue, dance, and forge new partnerships. Europe has funded this festival – so that it may approach the scene on an equal footing.

Mount Olympus -

Art and Lechery – The Tragedy of Jan Fabre

On 12 September 2018, 20 dancers of the Antwerp-based company Troubleyn published an open letter in the Flemish digital art magazine Rekto:Verso accusing the founder and artistic director, Jan Fabre, of having created a misogynistic atmosphere in which: “Humiliation is daily bread in and around the rehearsal space of Troubleyn.

Shaman

In Siberia

Given my fascination with spirits, I kept asking myself how can we still get to know this endangered species that represent the oldest vision of humanity? At best, they are considered as revenants who cavort in virtual reality, in comics, in painting, and on stage, because they embody that yearning to make contact with the beyond.

Dancer Brit Rodemund follows in "Made in Bangladesh“ follows exactly the same principle

All artists are “Made in Bangladesh”

Millions and millions of kilometers of yarn are unwound unremittingly from bobbins worldwide – in the myriad textile and sewing factories on this earth. Mechanically speaking, bobbins perform an almost endless pirouette. The human body follows exactly the same principle.

Barriers ! What Barriers ?

Theaters like to be the good guys in three ways: Good for the citizen. Good for culture. And good for the zeitgeist. Being good is part of the essence of theaters; they do not want to be accused of being racist or of not being really climate-neutral. But does this fit the reality within the institution itself? The case of Raphael Hillebrand casts doubt on this.

Tanz Dance

«tanz.dance» is a journalistic project, edited by Arnd Wesemann, longtime editor of the German magazine “tanz”. The project is independent of publishers in order to critically and with relish describe movement, thus change, thus the future in the arts – in well-researched reportages with digital, bilingual storytelling by international authors.

«tanz.dance» derives income solely from the sale of the sequel of the story told. Different prices depend on the number of authors to be paid. Any income derived therefrom goes to the authors. We kindly ask you only share the link to the opening page.

The body’s art

Documenta, Decolonycities & Deutsch-Südwest-Afrika
NEU

Documenta, Decolonycities & Deutsch-Südwest-Afrika

Über Namibia hängt ein Schatten – nicht nur wegen der tiefstehenden Sonne über der malerischen Etosha-Pfanne. Bei aller Wüstenromantik: Auch mit der Rückgabe von Raubkunst an die ehemals deutsche Kolonie bleibt der Frieden trügerisch. Das Verhältnis zu den Erbauern der ersten deutschen Konzentrationslager ist alles andere als geklärt.

lesen
Indigener Tanz

Die Neue Indigene Welle

Rituale, Älteste, Ahnen und sehr viel Land. In den Coast Salish Territorien im Nordwesten Kanadas lebt ein zeitgenössischer indigener Tanz auf: ringsum das erst 1886 gegründete Vancouver. Lange war der indigene Tanz hier verboten. Jetzt dreht sich der Wind.

Alles gelb auf 71° N

Noch 2000 Kilometer bis zum Nordpol

Ein gewaltiges Fest auf der Insel Ingøy im nördlichsten Norwegen vereint Publikum und Tanzende unter arktischem Himmel. Unweit der russischen Grenze feiert das Theater die Landschaft. Mit dabei: Hans-Thies Lehmann, der kürzlich verstorbene Doyen des postdramatischen Theaters. Für ihn war die Landschaft Widersacher und Zentrum des Theaters zugleich. Eine Festbeschreibung und ein letzter Text von ihm.

Das Wunder von Marseille

Die künstlerisch erfolgreichste Ballettkompanie der Welt kommt derzeit aus Marseille. Angeführt wird das Riesenunternehmen von einem dreiköpfigen Kollektiv. Alle dürfen bei den Proben des Ballet National de Marseille dabei sei, selbst die Verwaltung. Die Produktionen treffen den Zeitgeist. Von Lucinda Childs bis zu georgischen Volkstänzen lädt das Kollektiv (LA)HORDE jede und jeden ein, wieder Spaß am Tanz zu haben.

Springdance festival

Nach Schönheit graben

Nichts ist dem Westen fremder als indischer Tanz. Seine Wurzeln sind verschüttet. Umso mehr ziehen Statuen von nackten Tänzerinnen an den Tempeln von Karnataka solche Touristen an, die Bajaderen sehen wollen: als Prostituierte verunglimpfte Tänzerinnen. In Wahrheit ist der indischer Tanz eine fortdauernde Rekonstruktion aus zahllosen Bruchstücken seiner sehr langen Geschichte. Ihr hat sich die Choreografin Padmini Chettur äußerst sensibel angenommen.

Sorben Lausitz

In der Lausitz

Sie nennen sich Sorben und Wenden. Ihre Existenz in Deutschlands östlichstem Osten bemerken Fremde oft nur an zweisprachigen Ortsschildern, sobald sie über die sanften Hügel in diese andere Kultur gelangen. Hier wehren sich die Menschen mit kräftigen Tänzen, alten und neuen, gegen den Verlust des Eigensinns.

Fremder Tanz

Die Moderne wäre nicht vorstellbar ohne das Spiel von Aneignung und Appropriation, einem Global Groove aus Kunst, Tanz, Performance und Protest. Der deutsche Maler Ernst-Ludwig Kirchner begeisterte sich schon früh für außereuropäische Kulturen. Und für den Tanz. Genau hier fand die Avantgarde ihren Ausgangspunkt: in der Bewegung im Fremden.

Dort wo die Jungs sind

Der Wunsch zu kämpfen

Wer kämpft, ist ein Krieger. Oder ein Künstler? Der israelische Choreograf Yotam Peled erforscht die Ähnlichkeiten zwischen Kampf- und Tanzpraktiken. Ein Gespräch über (Gewalt-)Fantasien, Zärtlichkeit, Schmerz und Verletzlichkeit.

Moving Cities Hong Kong

Das tanzende Cluster

Hongkong ist im Lockdown. Neue Gesetze, auch zur Eindämmung des Virus, machen es der Stadt nicht leichter, in ihre immer noch neue Rolle zu finden. So geht es auch der Tanzszene. Sie wagt weiterhin den Aufbruch, versucht aber auch neue Wege zu gehen und mit Traditionen zu brechen

Die Unfähigkeit zu helfen

Die Unfähigkeit zu helfen

Burkina Faso ist eins der ärmsten Länder, in Afrika und in der Welt. Hier findet, trotz Militärputsch, ein Tanzfestival statt, das seinen Gästen tiefe Einblicke in die Mentalitäten der afrikanischen Tanzszene erlaubt. Hier wird gestritten, auf offener Bühne, es wird getanzt und es werden neue Partnerschaften geschmiedet. Europa hat dieses Festival bezahlt – um sich dieser Szene auf Augenhöhe zu nähern.

Mount Olympus - Jan Fabre

Kunst und Lüsternheit – Die Tragödie des Jan Fabre

Am 12. September 2018 veröffentlichten zwanzig Tänzerinnen der Antwerpener Kompanie Troubleyn einen offenen Brief in der digitalen flämischen Kunstzeitschrift „Rekto:Verso“, in dem sie den Gründer und künstlerischen Leiter Jan Fabre beschuldigen, eine frauenfeindliche Atmosphäre geschaffen zu haben, in der „Demütigung an der Tagesordnung ist“

Shaman

In Sibirien

Ich bin fasziniert von Geistern. Schamanen in ganz Asien rufen Geister an. Aber wer kennt diese bedrohte Spezies noch? Dabei gehören Geister zur älteste Vision der Menschheit. Heute nennt man sie allenfalls Wiedergänger, die sich in der virtuellen Realität, in Comics, in der Malerei und auf der Bühne tummeln. Dort verkörpern sie den Wunsch, mit dem Jenseits in Kontakt treten zu können.

Tänzerinnen auf der Bühne des Stücks Made in Bangladesh

Alle Künstler sind „Made in Bangladesh“

Millionen und Abermillionen Kilometer Garn spulen weltweit und ohne Unterlass von der Rolle – in sämtlichen Stoff- und Nähfabriken auf dieser Erde. Mechanisch betrachtet, vollführen Garnrollen eine nahezu endlose Pirouette. Genau demselben Prinzip folgt der menschliche Körper beim Tanz.

Grenzen sind Chancen

Das Theater will dreifach gut sein. Gut zum Bürger. Gut zur Kultur. Und gut zum Zeitgeist. Gut zu sein, gehört zum Wesen des Theaters, das sich nicht vorwerfen lassen will, etwa rassistisch oder nicht wirklich klimaneutral zu sein. Doch verträgt sich dieser Anspruch wirklich mir der Realität innerhalb der Institution? Der Fall Raphael Hillebrand lässt daran Zweifeln.

Tanz Dance

«tanz.dance» ist ein journalistisches Projekt, herausgegeben von Arnd Wesemann, langjähriger Redakteur der Zeitschrift «tanz». Das Projekt ist unabhängig von Verlagen, um kritisch und lustvoll Bewegung, damit Veränderung, damit die Zukunft in den Künsten zu beschreiben – in gut recherchierten Reportagen mit digitalem, zweisprachigen Storytelling  internationaler Autor:innen.

Sie verdienen allein am Verkauf der erzählten Geschichten. Unterschiedliche Preise richten sich nach der Anzahl der zu bezahlenden Urheber*innen. Wir bitten darum, anderen nur den Link, der die jeweilige Geschichte einleitet, weiterzugeben.