All artists are “Made in Bangladesh”

Dancer Brit Rodemund follows in "Made in Bangladesh“ follows exactly the same principle
Trina Mehnat in "Made in Bangladesh" by Helena Waldmann

Wonge Bergmann

Millions and millions of kilometers of yarn are unwound unremittingly from bobbins worldwide – in the myriad textile and sewing factories on this earth. Mechanically speaking, bobbins perform an almost endless pirouette. The human body follows exactly the same principle.

The human body – here that of dancer Brit Rodemund in “Made in Bangladesh” by Helena Waldmannv– follows exactly the same principle. She obeys the same economy of movement that enables textile manufacturers all over the world to meet the global demand for fabrics and clothing. Dance has been intensively concerned with bodily movements since the time of Rudolf von Laban, if not before. Similarly, since the 19th century, engineers such as the American Frederick Winslow Taylor have been focusing on optimizing the movements of workers: For every job there is a certain movement technique that allows a wall to be erected or a carpet to be woven as effectively and as quickly as possible or – as ballet also learned at that time – to perform a certain dance movement exactly as prescribed.

Anna Saup

Made in Bangladesh

How intertwined are work and dance – when one seems to be the exact opposite of the other? Of course, dance is physical work, for it produces a musculature that, for professional dancers, equals that of competitive athletes. It is striking how systematically thoroughly both sports and dance medicine analyze the body, in a manner similar to what Taylor once did, in order to ensure the optimal conditions for a performance that is as injury-free as possible. But there is yet another parallel, namely the poor pay received by dancers and workers alike. Physical labor is proletarian labor. According to Karl Marx this means: proletarians are doubly free wage laborers, people who own nothing but their labor power and can only earn their living by selling it. This is equally true of the dance scene. 

When the diesel generators kicked in after a power outage, the flimsy floors gave way: collapse of the nine-story Rana Plaza factory building in Dhaka in April 2013 

Rahul Talukder

In November 2012, a horrific fire destroyed the Tazreen garment factory in Bangladesh. Later, in April 2013, the nine-story Rana Plaza factory building collapsed, crushing and injuring thousands of people. The world was alarmed. Calls for boycotts against Western companies whose products were manufactured in these inhumane conditions followed almost immediately. A year later, dance director Helena Waldmann visited the site. With the help of the dance organization Shadona, headed by Bangladeshi dancer Lubna Marium, a dance company was formed in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, that put on an internationally touring production: “Made in Bangladesh.” Audiences and critics worldwide marveled at the exoticism of the foreign workers portrayed by dancers. Small stalls regularly appeared in the foyers of the theaters where the play was touring, promoting “regional products” and “upcycling” and protesting exploitation and the globalized clothing industry. The work, however, was about something else:

Each textile factory contains numerous sewing lines: The performance of each is recorded on a chalkboard so that seamstresses perceive each other as competitors 

Wonge Bergmann

Don’t boycott our products: The background is easy to explain. While seamstresses are dependent on insufficient wages and forced overtime, this work is the only way for the women in this Muslim country to break out of their restricted circumstances and emancipate themselves as breadwinners for their families. They are proud of their work, and it is this pride that enables them to demand higher wages and improved occupational health and safety.

The only way these can be achieved, however, is if the West does not, in fact, boycott their products. So what do we want? To promote the emancipation of women and at the same time boycott globalization? And there is yet more we do not see. “Made in Bangladesh” not only uses dance to express the penetrating beat of the clothes produced on a piece-per-hour basis through ever-repeating hand and arm movements – which, incidentally, are based on the Kathak dance form that is common in Bangladesh – but in a second part of the piece, the workforce, portrayed by the dancers, takes a good look at itself. What about exploitation and emancipation among us – among the artists themselves?

Urme Irin

Wonge Bergmann

Shoma Sharmin, Pritha Shareen Ferdous

Wonge Bergmann

How much self-exploitation, how much hope for the future, how many underpaid or unpaid hours of work are necessary to escape our own precarious situations through art, dance, music, or the like, of all things? If you read the reviews of this piece, you will find that this question is still a taboo in the art world. Many point fingers at Bangladesh, but hardly anyone sees the economic issues that are just as pressing in our own culture, which is relished by tens of thousands every evening. Yet it is no secret that only a fraction of independent artists can actually make a living from their own art.

What is the reason for this? Is it oversupply? If there really were too many artists waiting like an endless army of willing workers outside the factory gates in Bangladesh, or making their way from one grant application to the next, as is customary in Germany, then this should mean that just as Bangladesh is a country of the clothing industry, Germany – in the words of publicist Adrienne Goehler – is a “cultural state.”

Hanif Mohammad

Wonge Bergmann

Dancing in a textile factory 

Georgia Foulkes-Taylor

More than half of all self-employed people in Germany make their living in the cultural sector. They work in industries such as design, film, journalism, art, literature, music, dance, and theater, or make a living from these arts in agencies, television stations, galleries, foundations, universities, as producers, organizers, distributors, and publishers. Together they are a force to be reckoned with, yet often without steady work and rarely unionized. Together they stand for the progressive emancipation from the outdated structures and mindsets in Germany. Tremendous revenues are generated in this sector: Culture is one of the biggest economic drivers in Germany, generating as much as 106.4 billion euros in revenue each year. As a result, “the culture and creative industries now surpass other important sectors such as the chemical industry, energy suppliers, and financial service providers in terms of value added,” according to the office of the German Minister of Economic Affairs. However, only a fraction of this money ends up in the pockets of the cultural professionals themselves. By far the largest part is swallowed up by administrative costs and technical departments – the old, still strong pillars of the German economic miracle.  

"Made in Bangladesh"

Made in Bangladesh

3,33€

Sometimes the workers in the sewing factories in Bangladesh compete in sewing like teams of athletes competing in an elite sports event – until they are completely exhausted. Whoever produces the highest number of pieces is the day’s winner. Winners in art are the creatives, in dance studios for example, who participate in a market that has always denied behaving like a market.

If you prefer to read on paper, you will find it here:

Menu

Alle Künstler sind „Made in Bangladesh“

Tänzerinnen auf der Bühne des Stücks Made in Bangladesh
Trina Mehnat in "Made in Bangladesh" von Helena Waldmann

Wonge Bergmann

Millionen und Abermillionen Kilometer Garn spulen weltweit und ohne Unterlass von der Rolle – in sämtlichen Stoff- und Nähfabriken auf dieser Erde. Mechanisch betrachtet, vollführen Garnrollen eine nahezu endlose Pirouette. Genau demselben Prinzip folgt der menschliche Körper beim Tanz.

Die Tänzerin Brit Rodemund gehorcht in der Inszenierung „Made in Bangladesh“ der Tanzregisseurin Helena Waldmann derselben Bewegung, die es den Textilmanufakturen erst ermöglicht, dem globalen Bedarf an Stoffen und Kleidern gerecht zu werden: der Drehung einer Spindel. Spätestens seit Rudolf von Laban hat sich der Tanz intensiv mit industriellen Körperbewegungen auseinandergesetzt. So hat sich im 19. Jahrhundert der US-Amerikaner Frederick Winslow Taylor auf die Optimierung der bestmöglichen Bewegung der Arbeitenden konzentriert: Für jede Arbeit gibt es eine bestimmte Körpertechnik, die es erlaubt, best- und schnellstmöglich eine Mauer zu errichten, einen Teppich zu weben oder – auch das Ballett hat es damals gelernt – eine bestimmte Tanzbewegung nicht anders als  vorgeschrieben auszuführen.

Anna Saup

Made in Bangladesh

Wie verquickt sind die Arbeit und der Tanz – wo das eine doch das genaue Gegenteil des anderen zu sein scheint? Natürlich ist Tanz physische Arbeit. Denn er erzeugt einen Muskelbau, der auf professionellem Niveau dem der Leistungssportler entspricht. Auffallend ist, wie systematisch gründlich sowohl die Sport- wie die Tanzmedizin den Körper analysieren, ähnlich wie Taylor es einst tat, um optimale Voraussetzungen für eine – möglichst verletzungsfreie – Leistung zu ermöglichen. Es gibt aber noch eine Parallele: Sie findet sich wieder in der schlechten Bezahlung von Tanzenden und Arbeitenden. Physische Arbeit ist proletarische Arbeit. Nach Karl Marx bedeutet das: Proletarier sind doppelt freie Lohnarbeiter, Menschen, die nichts anderes besitzen als ihre Arbeitskraft und allein durch den Verkauf ihrer Arbeitskraft ihren Lebensunterhalt erzielen können. Das gilt in ganz besonderem Maße auch für die Tanzszene.

Als die Dieselaggregate nach einem Stromausfall ansprangen, gaben die dünnen Böden nach: Einsturz des neunstöckigen Fabrikgebäudes Rana Plaza in Dhaka im April 2013

Rahul Talukder

Im November 2012 vernichtete ein grauenhaftes Feuer in Bangladesh eine Kleidermanufaktur, die Tazreen-Fabrik, es folgte der menschenzermalmende Einsturz des neunstöckigen Fabrikgebäudes Rana Plaza im April 2013. Die Welt war alarmiert. Boykottaufrufe gegen westliche Firmen, die in diesen unwürdigen Verhältnissen ihre Produkte herstellen ließen, folgten auf den Fuß. Ein Jahr später war die Tanzregisseurin Helena Waldmann vor Ort. In Dhaka, der Hauptstadt von Bangladesh, entstand mit Hilfe der Tanzorganisation Shadona, die die bangladeschische Tänzerin Lubna Marium führt, eine Tanzkompanie, die eine international tourende Produktion auf die Beine stellte: „Made in Bangladesh“. Publikum und Kritik bestaunten weltweit die Exotik der fremden Arbeiterinnen, die von Tänzerinnen dargestellt wurden. In den Foyers der Theater, an denen das Stück gastierte, tauchten regelmäßig kleine Stände auf, die für „regionale Produkte“ und „Upcycling“ warben und gegen Ausbeutung und die globalisierte Kleiderindustrie protestierten. Tatsächlich handelte das Stück aber von etwas anderem:

Jede Textilfabrik besteht aus zahlreichen Nähreihen: Die Leistung jeder einzelnen wird auf einer Kreidetafel protokolliert, damit Näherinnen sich als Konkurrentinnen verstehen

Wonge Bergmann

Boykottiert nicht unsere Produkte. Der Hintergrund ist einfach erklärt. Näherinnen sind zwar abhängig von zu geringen Löhnen und den erzwungenen Überstunden, aber es ist für die Frauen in diesem muslimischen Land die einzige Möglichkeit, aus den engen Verhältnissen auszubrechen und sich zu emanzipieren: als Ernährerinnen ihrer Familien. Sie sind stolz darauf, und aus diesem Stolz erst wird es ihnen möglich, auch höhere Löhne und besseren Arbeitsschutz zu fordern.

Grundlage dazu wäre aber, dass der Westen ihre Produkte eben nicht boykottiert. Was also wollen wir? Die Emanzipation der Frau befördern und zugleich die Globalisierung boykottieren? Und wir sind auf noch einem weiteren Auge blind. In „Made in Bangladesh“ wird nicht nur der penetrante Takt der auf Stückzahlen pro Stunde hergestellten Kleider durch immer gleiche Hand- und Armbewegungen getanzt – übrigens auf Grundlage des in Bangladesh üblichen Kathak-Tanzes. In einem zweiten Teil des Stücks fasst sich diese von den Tanzenden dargestellte Arbeiterschaft selbst an die Nase. Wie sieht es mit Ausbeutung und Emanzipation bei uns, bei den Kunstschaffenden selbst aus?

Urme Irin

Wonge Bergmann

Shoma Sharmin, Pritha Shareen Ferdous

Wonge Bergmann

Wie viel Selbstausbeutung, wie viel Zukunftshoffnung, wie viel unterbezahlte oder nicht bezahlte Arbeitsstunden sind nötig, um der eigenen prekären Lage ausgerechnet durch Kunst, Tanz, Musik oder dergleichen zu entkommen? Diese Frage ist, wenn man die begleitenden Kritiken zu diesem Stück liest, in der Kunstwelt noch immer ein Tabu. Viele Finger zeigen auf Bangladesh, aber kaum einer sieht die ökonomisch ebenso drängenden Fragen in der eigenen Kultur hierzulande, die allabendlich von Zehntausenden goutiert wird. Dabei ist es kein Geheimnis. Nur ein Bruchteil der freien Künstler kann von der eigenen Kunst wirklich leben.

Woran liegt das? Am Überangebot? Wenn es wirklich zu viele Künstler gäbe, die wie eine endlose Armee arbeitswilliger Arbeiterinnen in Bangladesh vor den Werkstoren wartet, oder sich, wie hierzulande, von einem Förderantrag zum nächsten hangelt, dann müsste dies bedeuten: Wie Bangladesh ein Land der Kleiderindustrie ist, so wäre Deutschland – in den Worten der Publizistin Adrienne Goehler: ein „Kulturstaat“.

Hanif Mohammad

Wonge Bergmann

Tanzen in einer Textilfabrik

Georgia Foulkes-Taylor

Von Kultur leben in Deutschland mehr als die Hälfte aller Selbständigen. Sie arbeiten in Branchen wie Design, Film, Journalismus, Kunst, Literatur, Musik, Tanz und Theater oder sie ernähren sich von diesen Künsten in Agenturen, Fernsehstationen, Galerien, Stiftungen, Universitäten, als Produzenten, Veranstalter, Verleiher und Verlage. Zusammen sind sie eine Macht, oft ohne feste Arbeit und nur selten gewerkschaftlich organisiert. Zusammen stehen sie für die fortschreitende Emanzipation von den überalterten Strukturen und Denkweisen in Deutschland. In dieser Branche werden gewaltige Umsätze gemacht: Kultur gehört zu den größten deutschen Wirtschaftstreibern mit immerhin 106,4 Milliarden Umsatz Euro im Jahr. Mit dieser Summe „übertrifft die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Sachen Wertschöpfung inzwischen andere wichtige Branchen wie die chemische Industrie, die Energieversorger oder aber die Finanzdienstleister.“ Heißt es aus dem Haus des deutschen Wirtschaftsministers. Doch nur ein Bruchteil davon gelangt in die Taschen der Kulturschaffenden selbst. Den deutlich größten Teil verschlingen Management und technische Abteilungen – die alten, immer noch starken Säulen des deutschen Wirtschaftswunders.

Kind liegt unter Nähmaschine "Made in Bangladesh"

Made in Bangladesh

3,33€

Sport ist, wenn die Arbeiterinnen in den Nähfabriken in Bangladesh wie Mannschaften um die Wette nähen – bis zur restlosen Erschöpfung. Wer die höchste Stückzahl herstellt, ist Siegerin für einen Tag. Sieger in der Kunst sind die Kreativen etwa in den Tanzstudios, die an einem Markt teilnehmen, der stets verleugnet, sich wie ein Markt zu verhalten.

Wer lieber auf Papier liest, wird hier fündig:

Menü