Barriers ! What Barriers ?

Raphael Hillebrand is a dancer, choreographer, German politician, and break-dancer, an angry one at that, and one who has had to take many risks as an artist. He was born in Hong Kong to a German mother and a West African father.

Christoph Leib

Theaters like to be the good guys in three ways: Good for the citizen. Good for culture. And good for the zeitgeist. Being good is part of the essence of theaters; they do not want to be accused of being racist or of not being really climate-neutral. But does this fit the reality within the institution itself? The case of Raphael Hillebrand casts doubt on this.

Raphael Hillebrand

When I was about five years old, a sales lady in a bakery remarked with a questioning undertone, “Ohhh, what kind of little cutie are you?” “I’m Chinese,” I replied proudly. She hesitated, looked at me a little longer and then continued working. My dark skin and the answer that came so naturally to me had unnerved her. She meant well, she wanted to be nice, but she didn’t know how. When I came to Germany, I thought I was Chinese because I had been born in Hong Kong, only to be told that I was African because I had African ancestors on my father’s side.

Raul Arcangelo

In 2020, Raphael Hillebrand was one of three dance practitioners to be honoured for the German Dance Prize – the most prestigious dance award in Germany. For the first time ever, a dancer of colour had been recognised in Germany for his artistic output.

Frank Joung

Raphael Hillebrand

I know how the academic scene presents itself as exclusive – as a club for a white majority society. Although I believe that some people don’t see skin colour, I’m disappointed whenever someone thinks they can claim that there’s no racism in Germany just because they also happen to employ black dancers.

Park Aue

Erik Born in Die Unbehausten by Raphal Hillebrand, Berlin 2019

Obviously, there are also so-called people of colour in Germany, a term once applied to emancipated slaves. And, of course, dancers of colour have also been around for some time. The Brazilian Ismael Ivo, for instance, or James Saunders from Philadelphia, who died on a Cologne stage back in 1996, or the star of the Frankfurt Ballet, Stephen Galloway, who later worked as a choreographer for the Rolling Stones. It’s hardly as though a person of colour is a rarity in Germany’s cultural scene. Why, then, is Raphael Hillebrand the first person to be honoured by the dance world – probably not only on account of his skin colour? Even as the first ever urban dancer.

Raphael Hillebrand

“The only good system is a sound system.” Even if this critique of the system is not quite as analytical as that advocated by Marx and Engels, it nonetheless has something rebellious and revolutionary about it. Especially given that hip-hop culture has emerged as the culture of people of colour. But hip-hop has been absorbed by society, far more so than people of colour themselves. Hip-hop now belongs to the mainstream, despite the movement being endowed with a history that bespeaks of a cultural heritage and thus to historical circumstances that are certainly nowhere as rosy as the colourful blousons and glitzy limos with which hip-hop is now marketed. Nowadays, hip-hop is not just a culture with a history, but also with a responsibility for that history.

Gino Addi

The Interview

What a pleasure to listen to him and his spirit in the interview, for he never utters anything that displays the exclusive conceit of a minority, all while seriously shaking society’s foundations and its enclosing barriers. Here’s a taste of what he had to say:

Raphael Hillebrand, we like to label black music as “urban,” while white music is called “country.” So, we pit city against country, which is probably meant to hide the fact that it’s actually about black against white. Does that equally apply to dance?

Raphael Hillebrand: Urban versus rural is clearly a metaphor for black versus white, and of course there’s also that “colour divide” between White dances with their traditions such as ballet, modern and postmodern dance, and Afro-American dances, the dances of the colonised such as jazz, rock ‘n’ roll, lindy hop, break, krump, poppin’, lockin’, house dance, all of which fall under that umbrella term “urban.” Given we live in a society in which whites are the majority, a hierarchy exists between these two traditions.

Still, Lindy Hop, or Rock ‘n’ Roll in particular are danced primarily by White people.

That’s true because these dance forms were taken away from the blacks. Yet, this is not true of hip-hop, which is a global folk dance. Hip-hop was not born out of gang violence, but rather under pressure from white supremacy and capitalist exploitation. The energy, which we feel, was channelled into fresh directions by this majority society. What we’re now witnessing is a white-washing process and ultimately a denial of where those dances actually originated. The very fact that we think the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll was White, an Elvis. Such a mindset has to do with power and structural racism. Street dance is also a term Whites employ, for the White majority only see it performed on the streets, not in our kitchens, living rooms, or at family gatherings. The term “street dance” is associated with an underclass that lives on the street, not an upper class with access to a ballet hall or a theatre.

I see mostly white break-dancers in a mostly white Berlin.

There’s a great saying from New York: “They took jazz music away from us, they took rock ‘n’ roll away from us, but they never could take hip hop away from us, because we gave it away for free.”
That’s what it’s all about: creating an equal space without White supremacy, where the origins of hip hop are historically recognised, so that White people can also move about freely in that space. In hip-hop, there’s not this inverted sense of racism that despises White people, even now in these #blacklivesmatter times in the wake of George Floyd’s murder. Seriously though, most people don’t even know that hip-hop or house music originated in the Black community.

If you were white, would you just be a guest in the hip hop scene?

Yes, I see myself that way, as a guest. I grew up in a White family, my mother is White, and even though I’m pounced upon as a person of colour, it’s not the same, for I attended school, and went to a Gymnasium [grammar school], so I’m privileged. Why has Vartan Basil, a member of the breakdance group Flying Steps, been able to gain such recognition in Germany as a refugee from Lebanon? And, likewise the break-dancer Amigo, a descendant of a Turkish guest-worker. Why are they known for their muscular strength and not for their dancing intelligence? Their careers were not shaped in a ballet studio, but rather developed through hip-hop. Quite a lot of people from a migration background suffer from discrimination and yet make it in hip-hop.

And demand for themselves their own safe spaces for urban dance. In Berlin, because we live here, these include the Ballhaus Naunystraße and the Maxim Gorki Theatre. Don’t such shelters contradict that very sense of “integration” that is all so often called for.

The whole concept of integration is problematic. It expects me to submit. Why? Because I’m not White? My mother tongue is German. Nobody needs to integrate me. If White people want to integrate me because of my skin colour, that demonstrates the extent to which our society thinks in racist terms. Nobody should be discriminated against on account of their appearance or origin. So, it’s nothing to do with integration. It’s more important to talk about equality. We can only achieve equality through self-determined spaces ––beyond racist terms like Leitkultur [dominant culture] and integration. I’m calling for a lot more integration courses for those White people with issues about my skin colour.

Repeat question: Just as there’s a dance theatre with Orthodox Jews, there’s also all-Black companies such as the Alvin Ailey American Ballet Theatre. Such categories celebrate an identity that differentiates itself from others. Is that helpful?

Yes, and that’s because this separation actually exists. That’s why you need your own place to reflect and to breathe, a place which gives you access to culture amidst this power imbalance, in order to get on an equal footing and to create a cultural polyphony in the first place. In 2020, Sandra Maischberger tried to debate racism just among White people on German public television in Berlin, the city where, in 1885, Bismarck divided Africa up into colonial states for the White powers, states whose inhabitants to this very day feel his decision as a boot on their necks. In 2021, there was a repeat of this debate on the WDR airwaves in Cologne. Nothing was learnt. This isn’t about guilt. Discrimination has nothing to do with bad faith, but rather with assuming responsibility as a White European. I count myself among them.

Is that one of the reasons the dancer Raphael Hillebrand is co-founder and national chairman of the political party Die Urbane?

Yes, because unlike in Senegal or Vietnam, in Germany we’re allowed to establish a party that opposes Eurocentrism, as is the case. It is an anti-racist party that differs from the anti-racism of the Greens and the Linke in that cultural diversity is not something that presents a problem for us. Instead, we consider this diversity as the greatest potential for our society. The fact that in Berlin an Israeli can live and dance next to a Palestinian, who lives next to a Pole, is not a problem, but rather the solution.

Raphael Hillebrand has his own crews like “Battle Squad” and “Animatronik,” yet he also works with other ensembles, as in this case with the Berliner Theater in der Parkaue, in order to ask questions such as: Who owns the footbridge, the square in front of the U-Bahn station, the open space between the blocks of houses? Who owns the city? At home, one’s parents’ rules apply. At home, what they have paid for is put on the table. But, outside, on the streets, the rules have yet to be set in stone. On the streets, we constantly negotiate anew and fight together for the city.

Park Aue

The Artform that Clings to Power

Our conversation took place shortly after he had returned from Chemnitz. He was invited there to develop his own format for young choreographers “Made In Chemnitz,” with the local ballet company. Even the television cameras turned up. A film crew from the German ZDF interviewed Raphael Hillebrand as part of a moving tribute to him. In front of the cameras, the 38-year-old modestly stated that it was an award for all urban dancers. As well as one for all those with a different skin colour. In Chemnitz he came across a dance company “with very few people born in Germany who submit to the principle of white supremacy and who were truly astonished that I don’t yell out patriarchal calls to action or give orders.” After working at the Staatstheater Oldenburg, Chemnitz is his second experience with what he qualifies as “a strictly organised hierarchical artform that clings to power. Ballet means: subordinate yourself, for there’s something higher that is absolute and right.”

And yet, with that collective term urban dance, he understands the acting out of a deeply genuine social rage: “There’s so much pressure in there; it has to come out, there’s too much pressure in the lungs for far too few trumpets.”

Dialogic Movement

Raphael Hillebrand is gifted with verbal wit, his drive is infectious. Not only is he co-founder of the small hip-hop political party Die Urbane, he also wants to reconcile street dance, as is practised in Berlin youth cultural centres, with theatre. For years, he has sought to do this as an eloquent presenter through his “dialogic movement” format, building bridges between various urban dance forms and contemporary dance, after having created a springboard for himself with his studies at the Inter-University Centre for Dance in Berlin: with his splendidly danced, narrative solo works, as well as with his popular success Three Brothers, which was awarded the Best German Dance Solo in Leipzig in 2013. Inspired by his teacher, Niels “Storm” Robitzky, he has earned the respect of the contemporary dance scene, just as he has won the “Battle of the Year 2006” and the “2vs2” at the breakdance event IBE in Rotterdam some years ago. He has equally gained fame across the urban scene, for example, by confronting The Saxonz, a professional break-dance crew, with the Elbland Philharmonic Orchestra of Saxony in Dresden as an “urban dance theatre.”

Die Crew The Saxons in «Symphonix», Dresden 2017

Reconciling contemporary dance and hip-hip, avant-garde and the folk dance of youth, begins – as here in 2017 with Dresden crew The Saxonz – already with the task of familiarizing a band rarely fed by cultural funding with the laws of the stage. The Saxonz are more likely to be forced to generate sales through image films for the city of Dresden or the Saxon state government than gaining direct funding. Raphael Hillebrand is a mediator here, coming from their own midst.

Christoph Seidler

Integrate Yourselves

On Father’s Day in May, Raphael Hillebrand and I strolled through Caputh, a village near Potsdam where Albert Einstein once had a house built for himself. His arrival in a White village community in Brandenburg as a person of colour was to trigger frightful hatred and verbal attacks without warning. Raphael Hillebrand instantly went on the attack; he didn’t cower and stood his ground. By daring to set foot in a village of White, drunken men, had he crossed an invisible barrier that runs right through German society? How could someone the likes of Raphael Hillebrand be expected to recognise the barriers from whose fortress towers people are forever shouting, “Integrate!” “Into what?” And above all: given this context, does theatre really help? Or dance? Or the arts? And wherever does theatre, of all things, get the idea that it can combat racism? Let’s face it … on the next pages.

How has Theatre, of all Places, Come up with the Idea of Combatting Racism?

1,19€

Dance and racism – For the first time ever, a dancer of colour has been honoured in Germany: Raphael Hillebrand. A dancer who has broken down barriers, between urban dance and contemporary dance. And yet, resentment lingers. As does the question: How does the theatre, of all places, come up with the notion of being able to combat racism?

Menu

Grenzen sind Chancen

Raphael Hillebrand ist Tänzer, Choreograf, deutscher Politiker und Breaker: ein Wütender, einer, der als Künstler viel Anlauf nehmen musste. Geboren in Hongkong. Seine Mutter ist Deutsche. Sein Vater stammt aus Westafrika.

Christoph Leib

Das Theater will dreifach gut sein. Gut zum Bürger. Gut zur Kultur. Und gut zum Zeitgeist. Gut zu sein, gehört zum Wesen des Theaters, das sich nicht vorwerfen lassen will, etwa rassistisch oder nicht wirklich klimaneutral zu sein. Doch verträgt sich dieser Anspruch wirklich mir der Realität innerhalb der Institution? Der Fall Raphael Hillebrand lässt daran Zweifeln.

Raphael Hillebrand

Als ich ungefähr fünf Jahre alt war, sagte eine Bäckerei-Verkäuferin mit fragendem Unterton: «Ohhh, was bist du denn für ein kleiner Süßer?» «Ich bin ein Chinese», antwortete ich voller Stolz. Sie stutzte, sah mich noch einen Moment an und arbeitete weiter. Meine dunkle Haut, dazu die für mich selbstverständliche Antwort – das hatte sie überfordert. Sie hatte es gut gemeint, sie wollte nett sein, aber sie wusste nicht, wie. Denn als ich nach Deutschland kam, dachte ich, ich sei Chinese, weil ich in Hongkong geboren wurde. Dann erklärte man mir, dass ich Afrikaner sei, weil ich väterlicherseits afrikanische Vorfahren habe.

Raul Arcangelo

Raphael Hillebrand wurde 2020 als einer von drei Tanzschaffenden im Rahmen des Deutschen Tanzpreises geehrt – der höchsten deutschen Tanzauszeichnung. Man könnte auch sagen: Erstmals wurde ein farbiger Tänzer in Deutschland für seine künstlerische Arbeit anerkannt.

Frank Joung

Raphael Hillebrand

Ich weiß, wie exklusiv die akademische Szene sich selbst in Szene setzt – als Club einer weißen Mehrheitsgesellschaft. Auch wenn ich glaube, dass es Leute gibt, die keine Hautfarbe sehen, bin ich enttäuscht, wenn jemand meint, behaupten zu dürfen, dass es in Deutschland keinen Rassismus gäbe, weil man ja auch schwarze Tänzer beschäftige.

Park Aue

Erik Born in «Die Unbehausten» von Raphal Hillebrand, Berlin 2019

Natürlich gibt es in Deutschland People of Color, wie man sie nennt, ein Begriff, der einst die freigelassenen Sklaven bezeichnete. Und natürlich gibt es sie schon lange, die farbigen Tänzer. Der Brasilianer Ismael Ivo etwa oder der 1996 auf einer Kölner Bühne tödlich verunglückte James Saunders aus Philadelphia oder der Star des Ballett Frankfurt, Stephen Galloway, der später die Rolling Stones choreografiert hat. Es ist es nicht so, dass eine Person of Color in der Kulturszene Deutschlands eine Seltenheit wäre. Warum ist dann Raphael Hillebrand der erste, der – wohl nicht nur – wegen seiner Hautfarbe von der Tanzkunst geehrt worden ist? Als der erste Urban Dancer überhaupt.

Raphael Hillebrand

«The only good system is a soundsystem.» Auch wenn diese Kritik am System nicht ganz so analytisch ist wie die von Marx und Engels, hat sie etwas Rebellisches und Revolutionäres. Zumal die Hip-Hop-Kultur als Kultur der People of Color entstand. Aber Hip-Hop wurde eingemeindet, weit mehr als die People of Color selbst. Hip-Hop wurde Teil des Mainstream, obwohl die Bewegung ausgestattet ist mit einer Geschichte, die auf ein kulturelles Erbe verweist und damit auf geschichtliche Umstände, die ganz sicher nicht so rosig sind wie die bunten Blousons und fetten Karren, mit denen Hip-Hop heute vermarktet wird. Hip-Hop heute, das wäre eine Kultur nicht nur mit einer Geschichte, sondern auch mit einer Verantwortung für diese Geschichte.

Gino Addi

Das Interview

Im Gespräch ist es ist ein Vergnügen, ihm und seinem Temperament zuzuhören, da alles, was er sagt, nie den exklusiven Dünkel einer Minderheit abstrahlt, sondern ernstlich an den Grundfesten und damit an den Grenzzäunen der Gesellschaft rüttelt. Eine Kostprobe.

Raphael Hillebrand, schwarze Musik nennt man gerne «Urban», weiße Musik nennt sich «Country». Man spielt also Stadt gegen Land, was wohl verbergen soll, dass es eigentlich um Schwarz gegen Weiß geht. Gilt das auch für den Tanz?

Raphael Hillebrand: Stadt gegen Land ist klar eine Metapher für Schwarz gegen Weiß, und natürlich gibt es eine «Color Line» auch zwischen weißen Tänzen und ihren Traditionen wie Ballett, moderner und postmoderner Tanz, und den afroamerikanischen Tänzen, den Tänzen der Kolonialisierten wie etwa Jazz, Rock ’n‘ Roll, Lindy Hop, Break, Krump, Poppin‘, Lockin‘, House Dance, die alle unter den Begriff «Urban» fallen. Auf Grund einer weißen Mehrheitsgesellschaft gibt es eine Hierarchie zwischen diesen beiden Traditionen.

Gerade Lindy Hop oder Rock ’n‘ Roll werden aber vor allem von Weißen getanzt.

Das stimmt, weil diese Tanzformen den Schwarzen weggenommen wurden. Aber das gilt nicht für Hip-Hop, der einen globalen Volkstanz darstellt. Hip-Hop entstand nicht aus der Gewalt der Gangs, sondern unter dem Druck von weißer Vorherrschaft und kapitalistischer Ausbeutung. Die Energie, die wir spüren, wurde von dieser Mehrheitsgesellschaft in neue Bahnen gelenkt. Es passiert ein Prozess des White-Washing und am Ende wird geleugnet, woher die Tänze eigentlich stammen. Dass wir denken, der King of Rock ’n‘ Roll war ein Weißer, ein Elvis. Dieses Denken hat mit Macht und strukturellem Rassismus zu tun. Auch Street Dance ist ein weißer Begriff, weil die weiße Mehrheit ihn nur auf der Straße sieht, nicht in unseren Küchen, Wohnzimmern oder bei Familienfesten. Das Wort «Street Dance» ist assoziiert mit einer Unterschicht, die auf der Straße lebt, nicht mit der Oberschicht, die einen Ballettsaal oder ein Theater hat.

Ich sehe bei uns mehrheitlich weiße Breaker im mehrheitlich weißen Berlin.

Es gibt ein tolles Zitat aus New York: «They took jazz music away from us, they took rock ’n‘ roll away from us, but they never could take hip hop away from us, because we gave it away for free.»

Darum geht es: einen gleichberechtigten Raum ohne weiße Vorherrschaft zu schaffen, in dem die Ursprünge des Hip-Hop historisch anerkannt sind, damit sich auch Weiße in diesem Raum bewegen können. Es gibt nicht diesen umgedrehten Rassismus im Hip-Hop, der die Weißen verachtet, auch jetzt nicht in #blacklivesmatter-Zeiten nach dem Tod von George Floyd. Im Ernst aber: Die meisten wissen nicht, dass Hip-Hop und sogar House Musik aus der schwarzen Community stammen.

Wäre man als Weißer nur ein Gast im Hip-Hop?

Ich sehe mich so, als Gast, ja. Ich bin in einer weißen Familie aufgewachsen, ich habe eine weiße Mutter, und obwohl ich attackiert werde, als Person of Color, ist es nicht das Gleiche, denn ich bin zur Schule gegangen, aufs Gymnasium, ich bin privilegiert. Warum hat Vartan Basil von der Breakdance-Formation Flying Steps sich als ein Geflüchteter aus dem Libanon hier solche Anerkennung verschaffen können? Warum ist der Breakdancer Amigo ein Nachkomme türkischer Gastarbeiter, die man wegen ihrer Muskelkraft und nicht wegen ihrer tänzerischen Intelligenz geholt hat? Das sind Karrieren, die nicht in der Ballettschule vorgezeichnet werden, sondern sich im Hip-Hop entwickeln. Es gibt einfach überdurchschnittlich viele Menschen mit Migrationsgeschichte, die unter Diskriminierung leiden und es im Hip-Hop zu etwas bringen.

Die damit dem urbanen Tanz ein Gesicht geben und eigene Schutzräume für sich reklamieren. In Berlin, weil wir hier leben, sind das etwa das Ballhaus Naunystraße oder das Maxim-Gorki-Theater. Widersprechen solche Schutzräume nicht der so gern geforderten «Integration»?

Das Konzept «Integration» hat ein Problem. Es erwartet von mir, mich zu unterwerfen. Warum? Weil ich nicht weiß bin? Meine Muttersprache ist Deutsch. Niemand braucht mich zu integrieren. Wenn Weiße mich wegen meiner Haut integrieren wollen, zeigt das doch erst recht, wie rassistisch unsere Gesellschaft denkt. Niemand darf wegen seines Aussehens oder seiner Herkunft benachteiligt werden. Also geht es gar nicht um Integration. Wichtiger wäre es, von Gleichstellung zu reden. Gleichstellung können wir nur durch selbstbestimmt Orte erreichen – jenseits von rassistischen Begriffen wie «Leitkultur» und «Integration». Ich fordere viel mehr Integrationskurse für Weiße, die ein Problem mit meiner Haut haben.

Noch mal nachgefragt: Es gibt ein Tanztheater orthodoxer Juden, es gibt rein schwarze Kompanien wie das Alvin Ailey American Ballet Theater. In diesen Kategorien wird eine Identität gefeiert, die sich abgrenzt. Ist das hilfreich?

Ja, und zwar deshalb, weil die Separation tatsächlich existiert. Darum braucht man einen eigenen Ort zum Denken und Atmen, der dir in diesem Machtungleichgewicht Zugang zur Kultur verschafft, um überhaupt auf Augenhöhe zu kommen, um eine kulturelle Vielstimmigkeit erst herzustellen. Da gab es 2020 den Versuch bei Sandra Maischberger, Rassismus allein unter Weißen zu debattieren, im öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehen, in Berlin, dort, wo Bismarck 1885 Afrika unter lauter Weißen aufteilen ließ in koloniale Staaten, deren Einwohner diese Entscheidung noch heute als einen Stiefel auf ihrem Genick empfinden. Im 2021 wiederholte sich dasselbe im WDR. Nichts gelernt. Dabei geht es nicht um Schuld. Diskriminierung hat nichts mit böser Absicht zu tun, sondern mit dem Wahrnehmen von Verantwortung als weißer Europäer. Zu ihnen zähle ich mich dazu.

Ist der Tänzer Raphael Hillebrand auch deshalb Mitgründer und Bundesvorsitzender der Partei «Die Urbane»?

Ja, weil es, anders als in Senegal oder Vietnam, hier erlaubt ist, eine Partei zu gründen, die sich in diesem Fall gegen den Eurozentrismus stellt. Es ist eine antirassistische Partei, die sich vom Antirassismus der Grünen und der Linken darin unterscheidet, dass kulturelle Vielfalt für uns nicht etwas ist, das ein Problem darstellt, sondern diese Vielfalt als das größte Potenzial unserer Gesellschaft betrachtet. Dass ein Israeli neben einem Palästinenser neben einem Polen in Berlin lebt und tanzt, ist kein Problem, sondern die Lösung.

Raphael Hillebrand hat seine Crews wie «Battle Squad» und «Animatronik», arbeitet aber auch mit fremden Ensembles etwa am Berliner Theater in der Parkaue in «Die Unbehausten», um Fragen zu stellen wie: Wem gehört die Fußgängerbrücke, der Platz vor dem U-Bahnhof, die Freifläche zwischen den Häuserblocks? Wem gehört die Stadt? Zuhause gelten die Regeln der Eltern. Hier kommt auf den Tisch, was sie bezahlt haben. Aber draußen auf der Straße sind die Regeln noch nicht aufgestellt. Hier verhandeln wir neu und kämpfen zusammen um die Stadt.

Park Aue

Die Macht erhaltende Kunstform

Unser Gespräch fand statt, kurz nachdem er aus Chemnitz zurückgekehrt ist. Er war eingeladen, mit der dortigen Ballettkompanie ein eigenes Format für junge Choreografen zu entwickeln, «Made In Chemnitz». Sogar das Fernsehen war da. Die Ehrung für Hillebrand war dem ZDF einen rührenden Beitrag wert. Vor der Kamera sagte der 38-Jährige brav, es sei eine Preis für alle Urban Dancers. Und eine für alle mit anderer Hautfarbe. In Chemnitz stieß er auf eine Kompanie «mit sehr wenigen in Deutschland geborenen Menschen, die sich dem Prinzip weißer Vorherrschaft unterwerfen und die ganz erstaunt waren, dass ich keine patriarchalen Handlungsaufforderungen oder Befehle erteile». Nach einer Arbeit am Staatstheater Oldenburg ist Chemnitz die zweite Erfahrung mit einer, wie er es nennt, «Macht erhaltenden Kunstform, die in sich strikt hierarchisch organisiert ist. Ballett heißt: Ordne dich unter, denn es gibt etwas Höheres, das absolut und richtig ist.»

Unter dem Sammelbegriff Urban Dance versteht er dagegen das Ausleben einer sehr realen gesellschaftlichen Wut: «Da ist so viel Druck drin, der muss raus, da ist zu viel Druck in der Lunge für viel zu wenige Trompeten.»

Dialogic Movement

Raphael Hillebrand hat diesen Wortwitz, sein Tatendrang ist ansteckend. Nicht nur ist er Mitgründer dieser kleinen Hip-Hop-Partei «Die Urbane», auch will er den in Berliner Jugendkulturzentren betriebenen Street Dance mit dem Theater versöhnen. Jahrelang hat er sich dazu als eloquenter Moderator in seinem Format «Dialogic Movement» an einem Brückenschlag zwischen urbanen Tanzformen und zeitgenössischem Tanz versucht, nachdem er sich mit seinem Studium am Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum Tanz in Berlin ein Sprungbrett geschaffen hatte: mit famos getanzten, narrativen Soloarbeiten und mit dem Publikumserfolg «Drei Brüder», das 2013 als «Bestes Deutsches Tanzsolo» in Leipzig ausgezeichnet wurde. Inspiriert durch seinen Lehrer, Niels «Storm» Robitzky, hat er den Respekt der zeitgenössischen Tanzszene ebenso gewonnen, wie er vor Jahren den «Battle of the Year 2006» und den «2vs2» beim Breakdance Event IBE in Rotterdam gewann und Ruhm auch in der Urbanen Szene gesammelt, um etwa in Dresden die Breaking Crew The Saxons mit der Elbland Philharmonie Sachsen zu konfrontieren: als ein «Urbanes Tanztheater».

Die Crew The Saxons in «Symphonix», Dresden 2017

Zeitgenössischer Tanz und Hip-Hip miteinander zu versöhnen, Avantgarde und den Volkstanz der Jugend, das beginnt – wie hier 2017 mit der Dresdner Crew The Saxonz – bereits mit der Aufgabe, eine nur selten von Kulturgeldern ernährte Bande mit den Gesetzen der Bühne vertraut zu machen. The Saxonz sind gezwungen, Umsätze durch Imagefilme für die Stadt Dresden oder die sächsische Landesregierung zu erzeugen, als durch eine direkte Förderung. Raphael Hillebrand ist hier ein Mittler, der aus ihrer eigenen Mitte stammt.

Christoph Seidler

Am Herrentag im Mai sind Raphael Hillebrand und ich durch Caputh spaziert, durch eine Ortschaft bei Potsdam, in der sich Albert Einstein einst ein Haus errichten ließ. Als Person of Color eine weiße Dorfgemeinschaft im Brandenburgischen zu betreten, löste ohne Vorwarnung abgrundtiefen Hass und verbale Attacken aus. Er möge sofort verschwinden, habe hier nichts zu suchen. Raphael Hillebrand ging sofort auf Angriff, duckte sich nicht, keilte zurück. Hat da einer, mitten in Deutschland, eine unsichtbare Grenzlinie überschritten, als er ein Dorf der weißen, betrunkenen Männer betrat? Woran hätte einer wie Raphael Hillebrand die Grenzen erkennen können, von deren Festungstürmen aus immerzu gerufen wird: Integriert Euch! Worein? Und vor allem: Hilft hier wirklich das Theater? Der Tanz? Die Kunst? Und wie kommt ausgerechnet das Theater auf die Idee, für Antirassismus zuständig zu sein?

Wie kommt ausgerechnet das Theater auf die Idee, für Antirassismus zuständig zu sein?

1,19 €

Tanz und Rassismus – Erstmals wurde in Deutschland ein farbiger Tänzer geehrt: Raphael Hillebrand. Einer, der eine Grenze überwunden hat: zwischen Urban Dance und zeitgenössischem Tanz. Die Ressentiments aber bleiben. Und Fragen: Wie kommt ausgerechnet das Theater auf die Idee, für Antirassismus zuständig zu sein?

Menü